App Reviews

Day One: App Review

It’s definitely been a while. I know. Life has been crazy.

However, that being said, I’ve decided to make this blog more of a priority. I don’t know why it hasn’t been as of late.

Anyway, as I’ve mentioned previously, life has been getting busier. I’ve gotten a full time job and considering that I’ve always studied and worked, the transition to working 40 hours a week has been exhausting.

The travelling is also difficult, as the job is 2 hours away from where I live. Definitely not complaining, just providing a bit of context as to why I’ve been so exhausted.

day one
accurate version of me when I get home

Travelling so much (a minimum of 4 hours a day) has left me with a lot of time for thinking and reflection. Sitting on the train and just thinking a lot has drove me almost to the point of insanity. I tried writing my thoughts down in the ‘Notes’ app on my iPhone, but that did nothing for me and clogged up my notes feed so when I was looking for important things, I couldn’t find them through all the bullshit I’d been thinking earlier.

Enter: Day One.

Day One has been a lifesaver. I know that now. It’s so wonderful to just pour all of my thoughts out in a private place that I can look back on and realise how much I’ve grown (even if it’s just been in a few hours).

It’s pretty cheap on the App Store as well, about $8.

It sounds like a lot, but it’s cheaper than buying a pen and paper, and I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve always had an irrational fear that stemmed from childhood where I wrote down my thoughts in a diary and then my best friend at the time read it and made fun of me. The fact that it’s on my phone, which is always with me and has the option of a passcode is a HUGE plus for the anxious child within me.

Day One is a wonderful app that allows you to work through your thoughts without burdening other people. As someone who suffers from anxiety and depression, this has definitely helped me work out what exactly it is I’m feeling and whether or not there’s a way for me to fix it almost immediately.

The app allows you to star favourite posts that you want to keep an eye on, allows you to tag and add photos to posts as well as write as much as as you need to as often as you need to do it. Sometimes, when I’m feeling overwhelmed about things that are happening in my personal life, I’ll make 20 entries a day. Other days, I’ll make one or two.

I cannot rate this app highly enough. It’s been a tool that’s helped me process what I’m feeling and I highly recommend you trying it out.

Leave a Reply

